Duplicate Transaction Hash Questions

Greetings!

I am new to StarkNet and very excited about the project. Most of my blockchain development experience is centered around the EVM. I have been following Cairo and StarkWare for the past year and have been a bit more hands-on as I’ve been evaluating it for a project.

I have identified a possible issue with transaction hashes on StarkNet Alpha v4 and the Account abstraction. This results in behavior that may be unexpected by folks used to EVM development.

Problem: Buggy signing code or a malicious actor can prevent an Account contract from being used by submitting a StarkNet transaction that fails due to invalid signature. Because StarkNet Alpha v4 does not allow resubmitting/updating a previously submitted transaction hash, a failed contract invocation due to invalid signature can guarantee future failures, even for future properly signed calls with the same transaction hash (same nonce + parameters).

Potential Solutions: StarkNet should allow reprocessing of same transaction hash or the Account contract should support nonces > current_nonce

Steps to reproduce:

1. Deploy Account contract
  2. submit an execute transaction invoking a specific external contract, such as the Counter contract (GitHub - fracek/starknet-react-example) with an increment of 1, but with an invalid signature
  3. The transaction fails due to invalid signature
  4. Reinvoke the same call with the same nonce + arguments, but include a valid signature
  5. The transaction will not be reprocessed on StarkNet Alpha v4

Workaround: After the failed invocation with the bad signature, Invoke a different contract with a correct signature, which forces the nonce to increment, and you can make a successful invocation with the newly updated nonce