When should I use `tempvar` instead of `local`?

According to the documentation, tempvar references depend on the ap register and can be revoked..

On the other and, local variables only depend on the fp register and cannot be revoked. The only downside is that we have to manually increment the ap register before any memory allocation using alloc_locals (adding 1 cairo step).

From this perspective, it seems always better to use local instead of tempvar.

Can anyone provide code samples where using tempvar is better than using local (beside this one extra instruction ap += SIZEOF_LOCALS)?

Thx, I hope this thread will help other Cairo devs to better understand the language.

40 Likes

This is a great question. I’m not experienced enough to answer, but I have been trying different scenarios in Cairo Playground and cannot come up with a situation where using tempvar is better. But I would like to hear an experienced Cairo dev’s thoughts.

This comparison of tempvar to local seems similar to comparing let x = 5 (x can be reassigned) to const x = 5 (x cannot be reassigned), but without the ap and fp registers. Sometimes it may be helpful to reassign.

But again, I don’t know! Just thinking.

Adding a few more thoughts…

Here is an example similar to one I found here under Declaring Variables:

func main{}():
  # required to use local variables
  alloc_locals
  # creating alias by value
  let a = 5
  let b = 3
  # creating alias by reference. x value is 5
  let x = a
  # constant, can not be re assigned
  const nine = 9
  # res is 15 here, 5 * 3
  tempvar res = a * b
  # local varible. c is 14
  local c = nine + a
  # re-assign aliased variable
  let b = 2
  # re-assign tempvar. res is 10 here, 5 * 2
  tempvar res = a * b
  return ()
end

Not sure practically why you would want to reassign b and res, but maybe there’s a use case for something like this.

20 Likes