Delegate Onboarding announcement

[As of December 14th, Delegate Profiles have been moved to governance.starknet.io]

Hi Starknet, my name is Deven Matthews. As a member of the Starknet Foundation Governance Committee, I’ve been intimately involved in the planning of Starknet Governance. I’m an acting Governance Facilitator for Starknet Foundation, and most importantly been managing everything around Delegation in Starknet Governance. I’m so excited to finally announce Starknet is ready to invite community members to become Delegates for Starknet Governance!

Some brief background on myself: I’m a mechanism design researcher at Nethermind; and previously lead the Governance department for Blockchain at Berkeley a team that participates as delegates across many Ethereum Defi DAOs.

For any questions about Delegation or Governance, please post in this thread; you can reach out to me on twitter @DevenMat, email deven.matthews@StarknetFoundation.org, or through my Starknet forum account.

TL;DR

• Starknet’s Governance mechanism implements Delegation of voting power
  • Delegation enables a system in which where token-holders who take economic stake in the network, elect Delegates who take social stake in the community
  • All are welcome to receive delegation and participate in governance as a Starknet Delegate: to signal your willingness to receive delegation, please post your delegate profile on the linked Delegate profile thread
  • Token-holders are encouraged to select a delegate from the Delegate Profile page to delegate to if they do not plan to vote themselves
  • Information about delegate responsibilities can be viewed on the Delegate expectations post
  • More information coming